Taking a Parenting Win

14549082580_0bf358caf4

I should be feeling amazing today, channeling my inner Mummy Pig should be a doddle because last night was the first night in months that I had 8 hours uninterrupted sleep. Pudding slept a massive 10.30-7.30, no night feeds and no flappy bird moments where she had escaped her swaddle. So why then do I feel more tired today than those nights where I get up 2 or 3 times?? I think we are conditioned to have to moan about something, usually it’s pretty easy to find a subject to complain about but on occasion we have to pick something ridiculous and today that is ‘I have had too much sleep’.

Of course most fellow Mum’s don’t have this complaint, and I do feel lucky but then again I have now lost my main group of sympathisers. Let’s face it no one likes that smug mum at the baby group who announces that their child is now sleeping through the night. Being able to have a good moan about lack of sleep, teething, toilet training etc is what bonds us all together and makes us feel we are not dealing with the trials and tribulations of raising these small humans on our own. Sometimes I worry that all I ever do is moan about the kids – think about it when was the last time you actually boasted to another mum about something your child has done or a real parenting win? Are we conditioned to continually denigrate ourselves? We all know that raising children can be a thankless task some days, but that doesn’t mean we should only focus on our failures.

So today I am standing up and saying that my Pudding slept through the night at 3 months, and I am going to pat myself on the back and say well done for getting her into a good bedtime routine. Does it mean she will do it again tonight? Maybe she will, maybe she won’t, but right now I am taking the win!


10 thoughts on “Taking a Parenting Win

  1. Momma Jones says:

    Nice post. It’s the downside of social media though, isn’t it? More people to gripe with, but also more people with shining examples of excellent parenting to feel bad about. Useful if you’re looking for lists of baby essentials, smart travel systems, comfy cotbeds, travel accessories though. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re definitely right to take the win!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. islandliving365 says:

    That is fab news that she slept through the night!!! Well done ๐Ÿ™‚ That is a massive win. You are probably feeling tired because when you have a really good nights sleep after not having one for ages it often makes your body want more. Not good for new mothers! #stayclassy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura: Adventures with J says:

    Well done Pudding ๐Ÿ˜Š You are completely right. We do find it really hard to celebrate our parenting successes so today I am going to say that my win is having a little one who is happy to have his nails cut (I had worried lots about this before I did it). Thanks for sharing such positivity!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. babiesbiscuitsandbooze says:

    Well done Pudding!! You may feel more tired as I find it catches up with me when I have a good rest – like when you’re working and then have some time off you always get ill as your body relaxes and is like ‘what have you been doing to me?!’ Haha. Take the win! Enjoy it.

    Like

  5. min1980 says:

    10.30 until 7.30 is a massive win! Piglet has always been a terrible sleeper, which I am always whinging about, but to be honest he is getting better on the whole, although we still have some bad nights when he’s unwell or teething. I am no expert, so I don’t know if getting a baby to sleep is something that any of us have much control over, but I think you have every right to feel chuffed! Thanks for linking up to #StayClassy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mummy in a TuTu (@mummyinatutu) says:

    Definitely take the win hun. I got mine to do it for a whole month at three months and then we went majorly down hill from there. I think when you suddenly get sleep you realise how tired you actually are so don’t think you are complaining. 9 months down the line, I feel more tired getting between 6-7 hours sleep a night, interrupted once than at newborn when I had 3 hours sleep max a whole night for 3 weeks straight
    #stayclassy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Petite Pudding says:

      Your body def gets used to having no sleep – it certainly is a shock to the system when you suddenly get some. Glad to hear Alyssa is being a good girl for and giving you 6 hours in a row x

      Like

  7. The Mum Project says:

    That is AMAZING that she slept through the night, definitely one to be proud of!! It’s so true, we need to just accept that something good has happened and take a moment and be proud. It seems so easy?? haha Thanks for sharing with #StayClassy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

